Indiana Film Journalists Association

Promoting Film Criticism Across the Hoosier State

2009 Awards

The Indiana Film Journalists Association, an organization of journalists dedicated to promoting quality film criticism in the Hoosier State, is pleased to announce its first-ever annual film awards.

Much like other regional critics groups, the IFJA Film Awards are meant to recognize the finest cinematic achievements of the year. Winners were declared in 12 categories, with a runner-up in 11 categories. In addition, a total of 10 movies (including the winner and runner-up) were recognized as Finalists for the top prize, Best Film of the Year.

“Up in the Air” took top honors, winning Best Film as well as Best Screenplay and Best Actor for George Clooney. “Where the Wild Things Are” received two awards, Best Director Spike Jonze and the Original Vision Award.

Carey Mulligan was named Best Actress for “An Education.” “Fantastic Mr. Fox” was named Best Animated Film, “The Cove” Best Documentary and “Sin Nombre” Best Foreign Language Film.

Doug Jones, Morgan Mead and David Hamilton were honored with The Hoosier Award for their work on “My Name Is Jerry,” a film shot in and around Muncie and partially funded by Ball State University.

To be eligible, a film must have played theatrically in Indiana during the 2009 calendar year, screened to state critics in advance of a 2010 general release date, or play in a Hoosier State film festival such as Indianapolis International Film Festival or Heartland Film Festival.

Below is a complete list of honored films. A word of explanation about the last two categories:

The Original Vision Award is meant to recognize a film that is especially innovative or original.

The Hoosier Award is meant to recognize a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots. As a special award, no runner-up is declared.

Best Film of the Year

Winner: “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Other Finalists: “(500) Days of Summer,” “District 9,” “The Hurt Locker,” “Julie & Julia,” “Moon,” “Nine,” “Up,” “Where the Wild Things Are.”

Best Animated Film

Winner: “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Runner-up: “Up”

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: “Sin Nombre”
Runner-up: “Welcome”

Best Documentary

Winner: “The Cove”
Runner-up: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”

Best Screenplay

Winner: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: Spike Jonze and Dave Eggers, “Where the Wild Things Are”

Best Director

Winner: Spike Jonze, “Where the Wild Things Are”
Runner-up: Wes Anderson, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Actress

Winner: Carey Mulligan, “An Education”
Runner-up: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Mo’Nique, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
Runner-up: Vera Farmiga, “Up in the Air”

Best Actor

Winner: George Clooney, “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”
Runner-up: Stanley Tucci, “The Lovely Bones” and “Julie & Julia”

Original Vision Award

Winner: “Where the Wild Things Are”
Runner-up: “District 9″

The Hoosier Award

Winner: Actor Doug Jones, director Morgan Mead and screenwriter David Hamilton for “My Name Is Jerry”

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was formed in February 2009 with six founding members, and has since expanded its roster to nine. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.