header photo

The Indiana Film Journalists Association Begins Nominations Process for 2015 Awards

The Indiana Film Journalists Association is proud to be one of the nation's most transparent organizations when it comes to our annual film awards. Each year, we share the nominations process with our readers from early November when it begins to our final awards announcement in mid-December. Every year, each member of the Indiana Film Journalists Association sees the vast majority of the nation's wide release films along with the year's best in short films, foreign language films and documentaries.

As our reputation has grown, the Indiana Film Journalists Association has also worked with both indie and major studios to ensure that we've also seen those films that have not and may not open in the Hoosier state. Additionally, IFJA members diligently attend film festivals throughout the state of Indiana and attend a variety of special events, screenings, and conventions throughout the year. We're proud of the fact that our nominations process and awards process is always a bit different from other major film critic groups.

Beginning in early November, IFJA members are tasked with beginning to compile their year's bests in each of our award categories. IFJA practices an open nominations process. Rather than reducing each category to a handful of nominated films, each IFJA member is allowed to submit their own nominees in each awards category. The nominations list is updated at least weekly through the close of nominations, December 12th this year, and each IFJA member is able to keep adding nominations in each category as films are submitted for consideration or simply seen by IFJA members at public or private screenings.

Does this process create a more cumbersome awards meeting? Absolutely. However, IFJA members are committed to an open nominations process that allows each IFJA member an equal voice and provides an equal opportunity for both studio and indie films to be considered.

The films listed as nominations for IFJA's 2015 Film Awards are films that have been put into nomination by at least one IFJA member for consideration at our annual awards meeting. Sometimes, we know that a nominee stands very little chance of landing among the award winners but we believe our open nominations process is a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge all of the year's best achievements in film.

Please note: IFJA will not consider nominating films that have not been made available for viewing to IFJA membership either through theatrical release, festival release, public screenings or through screeners. If you'd like your film considered for our year end awards, please contact our awards coordinator, Christopher Lloyd (Not the actor!).

The following is the current list of IFJA's nominees for our 2015 Film Awards:
*As of 11/24/2015

Best Film


Beasts of No Nation

The End of the Tour

Ex Machina

Inside Out

It Follows

Keep In Touch
Love & Mercy

Mad Max: Fury Road

Magic Mike XXL

The Martian
Mistress America

Mr. Holmes
My All-American



Sleeping With Other People


The Stanford Prison Experiment

Steve Jobs

Straight Outta Compton

The Walk

What We Do in the Shadows


 Best Animated Feature

The Good Dinosaur

Inside Out

Shaun the Sheep

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water

Best Foreign Language Film

Coming Home
Goodnight Mommy
White God

Best Documentary

3 1/2 Minutes, 10 Bullets
Almost There


Becoming Bulletproof

Best of Enemies

Crocodile Gennadiy

For Grace

Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief

Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck

Lambert & Stamp


Best Original Screenplay

Matt Charman and Joel & Ethan Coen, "Bridge of Spies"

Alex Garfield, “Ex Machina”

Leslye Headland, "Sleeping With Other People"
Michael Alan Lerner and Oren Moverman, "Love and Mercy"

Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, "Spotlight"

Taylor Sheridan, "Sicario"

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jesse Andrews, "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl"

Emma Donoghue, "Room"

Cary Joji Fukunaga, "Beasts of No Nation"

Drew Goddard, "The Martian"

Leslye Headland, "Sleeping With Other People"

Nick Hornby, "Brooklyn"
Donald Margulies, "The End of the Tour"
Phyllis Nagy, "Carol"
Angelo Pizzo, "My All-American"

Aaron Sorkin, "Steve Jobs"

Michael and Peter Spierig, "Predestination"

Best Director

Lenny Abrahamson, "Room"

Danny Boyle, "Steve Jobs"

Cary Joji Fukunaga, "Beasts of No Nation"

Alex Garfield, “Ex Machina”

Alfonso Gomez-Rejon, "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl"
Todd Haynes, "Carol"

Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"

George Miller, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Angelo Pizzo, "My All-American"
Bill Pohlad, "Love & Mercy"

James Ponsoldt, "The End of the Tour"

Patricia Riggen, "The 33"

Ridley Scott, "The Martian"

Steven Spielberg, "Bridge of Spies"

Denis Villeneuve, "Sicario"

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett, "Carol"
Emily Blunt, "Sicario"
Regina Case, "The Second Mother"
Nina Hoss, "Phoenix"
Anna Kendrick, "The Last Five Years"

Brie Larson, "Room"

Gong Li, "Coming Home"
Rooney Mara, "Carol"

Saiorse Ronan, "Brooklyn"

Rose Salazar, "Night Owls"
Sarah Silverman, "I Smile Back"

Charlize Theron, "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Lily Tomlin, "Grandma"

Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”

Best Supporting Actress

Joan Allen, "Room"
Elizabeth Banks, "Love & Mercy"
Greta Gerwig, "Mistress America"

Sally Hawkins, "A Brilliant Young Mind"

Laura Linney, "Mr. Holmes"

Rachel McAdams, "Spotlight"

Sarah Snook, "Predestination"

Kate Winslet, "Steve Jobs"

Best Actor

Abraham Attah, "Beasts of No Nation"

Jason Bateman, "The Gift"

Asa Butterfield, "A Brilliant Young Mind"

Matt Damon, "The Martian"
Paul Dano, "Love and Mercy"

Johnny Depp, "Black Mass"

Michael Fassbender, "Steve Jobs"

Jake Gyllenhaal, "Southpaw"

Tom Hanks, "Bridge of Spies"
Michael Keaton, "Spotlight"

Thomas Mann, "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl"

Ian McKellen, "Mr. Holmes"

Ben Mendelsohn, "Mississippi Grind"

Ryan Reynolds, "Mississippi Grind"

Mark Ruffalo, "Infinitely Polar Bear"
Mark Ruffalo, "Spotlight"

Jason Segel, "The End of the Tour"

Jason Sudeikis, "Sleeping With Other People"

Jacob Tremblay, "Room"

Best Supporting Actor

Benicio Del Toro, "Sicario"
Aaron Eckhart, "My All-American"

Jesse Eisenberg, "The End of the Tour"

Idris Elba, "Beasts of No Nation"

Harrison Ford, "The Age of Adele"

Paul Giamatti, "Love & Mercy"

Oscar Isaac, "Ex Machina"
Richard Jenkins, "Bone Tomahawk"

Michael Keaton, "Spotlight"

Tom McCamus, "Room"

Mark Ruffalo, "Spotlight"

Mark Rylance, "Bridge of Spies"

Liev Schreiber, "Spotlight"

Rafe Spall, "A Brilliant Young Mind"

Forest Whitaker, "Southpaw"


Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance (New Category!)


Raymond Ochoa, "The Good Dinosaur"
Ben Whishaw, "Paddington"

Phyllis Smith, "Inside Out"

James Spader, "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Best Musical Score

Carter Burwell, "Carol"
Disasterpeace, "It Follows"

Harry Gregson-Williams, "The Martian"

James Horner, "The 33"

Johann Johannsson, "Sicario"

Junkie XL, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jed Kurzel, "Slow West"

Daniel Pemberton, "The Man from U.N.C.L.E."

Stephen Rennicks, "Room"

Howard Shore, "Spotlight"

Original Vision Award

Bone Tomahawk
It Follows
Mad Max: Fury Road
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Mistress America
The Walk


About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.