Indiana Film Journalists Association

Promoting Film Criticism Across the Hoosier State

2015 IFJA Film Awards

"Spotlight," "Room" win top honors from
Indiana Film Journalists Association


"Spotlight," a drama exploring the Boston Globe's investigation of widespread sexual abuse by Catholic priests, was named Best Film of 2015 by the Indiana Film Journalists Association (IFJA).

"Room," an adaption of the best-selling novel about a woman raising her young son inside a solitary room, won runner-up in the best film race. Both movies won three awards from the IFJA, a group of writers dedicated to promoting quality film criticism in the Hoosier State.

In addition to Best Film, "Spotlight" won for Best Original Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor, Mark Ruffalo. "Room" earned the Best Adapted Screenplay Prize, and also was recognized for the top two performances of the year: Brie Larson for Best Actress and Jacob Tremblay for Best Actor.

Besides the winner and runner-up for Best Film, eight other movies were named Finalists in that category, cumulatively representing Indiana film critics' picks for the 10 best movies of 2015. (See full list below.)

George Miller was named Best Director for "Mad Max: Fury Road," which also won for Best Musical Score. Greta Gerwig won Best Supporting Actress for "Mistress America." Phyllis Smith won for Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance for "Inside Out."

"Anomalisa" was named the Best Animated Film and also won the Original Vision Award. "Son of Saul" won Best Foreign Language Film and "Amy" earned Best Documentary.

The Hoosier Award, which recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with roots in Indiana, or a film that depicts Hoosier State locales and stories, went to filmmaker Angelo Pizzo.

IFJA members issued this statement for the Hoosier Award: "Angelo Pizzo has forged an important Hollywood career, with iconic films such as 'Hoosiers' and 'Rudy,' while remaining devoted to his Indiana roots. We also laud Pizzo for making the jump into the director's chair for the first time after three decades as a writer and producer with this year's 'My All American.’”

The following is a complete list of honored films:

Best Film

Winner: "Spotlight"
Runner-up: "Room"

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):

"The Big Short"
"The End of the Tour"
"Mad Max: Fury Road"
"The Martian"
"Steve Jobs"
"Straight Outta Compton"

Best Animated Feature

Winner: "Anomalisa"
Runner-Up: "Inside Out "

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: "Son of Saul"
Runner-Up: "Goodnight Mommy"

Best Documentary

Winner: "Amy"
Runner-Up: "Meru"

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, "Spotlight"
Runner-up: Matt Charman, Joel & Ethan Coen, "Bridge of Spies"

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Emma Donoghue, "Room"
Runner-up: Adam McKay and Charles Randolph, "The Big Short"

Best Director

Winner: George Miller, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Runner-up: Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"

Best Actress

Winner: Brie Larson, "Room"
Runner-up: Charlotte Rampling, "45 Years"

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Greta Gerwig, "Mistress America"
Runner-up: Elizabeth Banks, "Love & Mercy"

Best Actor

Winner: Jacob Tremblay, "Room"
Runner-up: Jason Segel, "The End of the Tour"

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Mark Ruffalo, "Spotlight"
Runner-up: Idris Elba, "Beasts of No Nation"

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Phyllis Smith, "Inside Out"
Runner-up: Tom Noonan, "Anomalisa"

Best Musical Score

Winner: Junkie XL, "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Runner-up: Disasterpeace, "It Follows"

Original Vision Award

Winner: "Anomalisa"
Runner-up: "Chi-Raq"

The Hoosier Award

Winner: Angelo Pizzo, writer/director/producer

 (As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, qCanceluality film criticism or commentary in any medium.